Design Awards Jurors


2018 Design Awards Jurors



Renee Y. Chow, AIA


Chair of Architecture, Professor of Architecture & Urban Design, University of California, Berkeley, College of Environmental Design


Principal, Studio Urbis


Renee Y. Chow, AIA, is internationally recognized for her expertise in residential and urban design. Renee is a professor of architecture and urban design at University of California Berkeley as well as the Chair of the Department of Architecture. She lectures internationally on issues of housing design, house construction systems, and the design of neighborhoods. Her publications include Suburban Space: The Fabric of Dwelling that received the 2003 AIA California Council Research and Technology Award as well as the recently published Changing Chinese Cities, a book on the design of cities. She previously taught at Massachusetts Institute of Technology as well as studied there, receiving both her S.B.A.D and Master of Architecture.


Marvin J. Malecha, FAIA, DPACSA


President and Chief Academic Officer, NewSchool of Architecture & Design


Marvin J. Malecha, FAIA, is the President and Chief Academic Officer at NewSchool of Architecture & Design in San Diego, California. For the past 20 years was the Dean of the College of Design at North Carolina State University, and prior to that position served as Dean of the College of Environmental Design at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona for more than a decade.


President Malecha’s career has been characterized by leadership in academic management, attention to the scholarly and reflective aspects of a design education, a consulting practice that informs a life in the academy and a passionate belief in the absolute right of access to an education for every individual in our society. He believes that education and practice lie along the same continuum in life and he has encouraged others to find the connections between them.


Steve Wiesenthal, FAIA


Principal, Studio Gang


Architect Steve Wiesenthal, FAIA, has dedicated more than twenty-five years of his career to campus planning and architecture for institutions of higher learning. Steve is energized by campuses as intentional communities devoted to the creation and dissemination of knowledge and is a connector—of people and places, ideas and insight—in the spirit of creativity. Following six years with the design firm Venturi, Scott Brown and Associates, Steve served as campus architect for three of the United States’ most prestigious universities, including the University of Pennsylvania Medical Center and the University of California San Francisco. From 2008 to 2016, Steve served as Senior Associate Vice President for Facilities Services and University Architect for the University of Chicago, overseeing the planning, design, construction, and facilities operations of the campus during its most ambitious capital program, and initiating and implementing the University’s first campus-wide Environmental Sustainability Program.


William Leddy, FAIA


Principal, LEDDY MAYTUM STACY Architects


A founding Principal of LEDDY MAYTUM STACY Architects in San Francisco, William Leddy, FAIA, believes that architecture has an important role to play in leading our communities toward a just, carbon-neutral future for all.


For 30 years Leddy has been a national leader in the design of regenerative architecture that celebrates our place in the natural world. His firm has received over 150 regional, national and international design awards and has been recognized by numerous organizations including the American Institute of Architects, the French Institute of Architects, the Norwegian Association of Architects, the U.S. Department of Energy, and the Urban Land Institute. LMSA is one of only two firms in the nation to have received ten or more AIA COTE Top Ten Green Project awards. Leddy has lectured widely and served as visiting professor at the Southern California Institute of Architecture, the University of California, Berkeley, the California College of the Arts and the University of Oregon. Leddy was elected to the AIA College of Fellows in 2003 and has served on the National AIA Committee on the Environment Advisory Group (as chair in 2013) and currently serves on the AIA California Council Committee on the Environment.  


LMSA was the 2017 recipient of the National AIA Firm Award. 


Henry Siegel, FAIA LEED AP BD+C


Principal, Siegel & Strain Architects


Henry Siegel founded Siegel & Strain Architects with Larry Strain in 1990. Since then, Henry has championed the idea that architects must engage change by making sustainable design central to how we design buildings. He has put this conviction into practice as lead designer for many of Siegel & Strain’s award-winning projects, insisting that sustainable design and design excellence are inseparable.


Under Henry’s leadership, the firm has received over ninety national, regional, and local design awards, including four Top Ten Green Projects of the Year from the AIA’s Committee on the Environment (COTE). Henry is past chair of the COTE National Advisory Group and continues to advocate for incorporation of sustainable design values into architectural awards programs and architecture school curriculums.