2020 Design Awards Call For Entries


The AIA Silicon Valley Design Awards program recognizes the outstanding achievements in architecture and design of Silicon Valley individuals and organizations as well as celebrates the distinguished work of architects and related professionals from afar who contribute to the framework of our local built environment. The program serves to inform the public of the breadth and value of architectural practice.

Non-member $500 
Member of AIA Silicon Valley $300
Students + Associate Members of AIA Silicon Valley $150

  • Registration fees are non-refundable. Entry fees are payable by check, MasterCard, Visa, American Express, PayPal

The entry fee and submission materials must be received via Submittable no later than Friday, September 4, 2020 (midnight PST) for the Special Awards. The deadline has been extended to Friday, September 11, 2020 (midnight PST) for the Main Awards.  After registering, you will be emailed a link to complete your application. It may take until the end of the next business day to receive the link. Applications are not complete until all submission and project information is received.

Entrants must be licensed architects. Members of the AIA Silicon Valley may submit projects completed after December 2011 located anywhere. Non-Members can submit only projects built in the County of Santa Clara after December 2011.

Architecture  Open to any project type, including renovations, adaptive reuse, preservation, multi-family housing, commercial and new construction.

Residential  Open to only single family residential home projects. This category includes new builds, remodels, additions and historic preservation.

Urban Design / Master Plan  Projects beyond the scale of an individual building which expand the role of the architect by contributing to urban planning and community development and which demonstrate a significant contribution to improving the quality of life in neighborhoods, communities or regions. Examples include, but are not limited to, civic projects; landscape projects; urban planning; environmental projects; and design advocacy on behalf of the public.

Interior Architecture  Interiors projects not limited by scale, budget, or project type. Entries may include renovations, additions, adaptive reuse, preservation or new construction.

Small Project / Big Impact  Commissions that leverage design opportunities to produce a positive impact beyond the limits imposed by small scale and/or budget. Projects may be of any type or scale including furniture and industrial design. 

Unbuilt / Research / Competition*   Projects of any scale or type whose construction has not commenced at the deadline for submissions to this awards program. Projects are eligible for consideration even if their physical realization is never anticipated. This includes the work of students in accredited school architecture programs pursuing degrees in architecture or otherwise on a career path toward a professional degree in architecture.
* Entrants for the Unbuilt Projects category shall be similarly qualified, but in addition to these qualifications, entrants may also be Student or Associate members of the AIA Silicon Valley.

Social Responsibility  Projects of any scale that were performed pro bono by a member of AIA Silicon Valley to make the world a better place through service and philanthropy qualify.


Through its Special Awards program, the Chapter recognizes outstanding achievements in four distinct areas. Open to active members of the AIA Silicon Valley.

Birge Clark Award  This award recognizes outstanding achievement in architectural design as expressed in a body of work produced by an individual architect over a period of at least 10 years. The award is intended to honor the individual rather than the firm. The emphasis of the awards is the quality of the body of architectural work, consistently designed, over the career of the architect.

Firm Award  This award recognizes a firm that has consistently produced distinguished architectural design for a period of at least 20 years and has contributed to the advancement of the profession in at least three of the following areas: architectural design, research, planning, technology, practice, preservation and innovation. In addition, the award honors a firm that promotes continual collaboration among individuals, produces work which transcends a specific area of expertise, has a record of community service, and develops a culture which educates and mentors the next generation of architects.

25 Year Award  This award recognizes a distinguished project of enduring architectural significance, which has retained its central form, character and integrity intact over time. The entry shall have been completed 25 to 50 years ago, after January 1, 1969 and prior to January 1, 1994.

People’s Choice Award  This award is selected via public participation through an on-line website. The viewer is invited to choose from a select list of designs located in Santa Clara County. 


 TO BEGIN click the button below and register your project.